Bearded dragons

how many types of bearded dragons are there

Types of Bearded Dragons

Bearded dragons are a variety of lizard native to Australia. They have been widely bred as pets and make great additions to reptile collections. Though there are many species and morphs of bearded dragons, they all belong to the same genus, Pogona. As with other species of lizards, there are multiple types of bearded dragons. Below are some of the popular ones:

Central Bearded Dragon

  • Pogona Vitticeps: Pogona Vitticeps is the most popular species of bearded dragon kept as a pet. Its size and friendly demeanor make it a great addition to any reptile collection. Its colours range from yellow to orange, and its body is covered with spikes, giving it an intimidating look.

Rankin’s Bearded Dragon

  • Pogona Henrylawsoni: Pogona Henrylawsoni is also known as Rankin’s Bearded Dragon. It is slightly smaller than the Pogona Vitticeps, and its colours can range from light Greys, browns and Reds.

Dwarf Bearded Dragons

  • Pogona Minor: Pogona Minor is a small species of bearded dragon. They only grow up to 6 inches long and they have a pale yellow colour. They tend to be a bit more timid than other bearded dragons, so they are not recommended for beginners.

Pygmy Bearded Dragons

  • Pogona Minor Minima: Pogona Minor Minima are the smallest of the bearded dragon species. They grow to only 3 inches long, and they have a pale brown or yellowish colour. They are quite timid and do not handle handling well, so they are best kept in a steady environment.

These are some of the popular types of bearded dragons, however, there are many other species and morphs available. Keeping a bearded dragon as a pet can be a rewarding experience as they are intelligent and relatively easy to care for.

Recent Post

Join Our Channel

Send Us A Message