Pet Rats

what states allow squirrels as pets

What States Allow Squirrels as Pets

For some people, having a pet squirrel is something they dream of. But before thinking of adopting one of these small and lively rodents, it is essential to know if it is legal to own a squirrel in your state and what laws may apply.

States Where Keeping a Squirrel is Legal

You can own a pet squirrel in the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

In many of these states, owning a pet squirrel requires a permit or license, so make sure to look into your local laws to find out what is required.

States Where Owning a Squirrel is Not Legal

There are many states where owning a pet squirrel is prohibited, including:

  • California
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • District of Columbia

It is important to know the laws in your state when considering owning a pet squirrel. You should always research the laws thoroughly to make sure you are staying within the law.

Recent Post

Join Our Channel

Send Us A Message